1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Choose 90's Silverado 1500 Z71 or Tahoe?

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by snow4me, Aug 4, 2010.

1. snow4me

snow4me Senior Member

I've been plowing for two years now primarily residential long driveways on large Estate properties and two small parking lots with a 1992 Chevy Silverado 4x4 Z71 6.5' bed 117.5" wheel base w/ Snoway 7.5' 29 series plow. This truck has worked great for what I do because of it's short wheelbase and plenty of power.

Now I'm adding a second truck to my business. I'm debating about getting another 90's shortbed 1500 Silverado 4x4 Z71 or possibly going with a Tahoe 2-door 4x4 because it has a 6" shorter wheelbase coming in at 111.5" so it will be more maneuverable. I've already bought an 8 foot 29 series plow, now I'm trying to decide what truck to buy.

So my question first question...is the 1995 Tahoe built as well as the 1992 Silverado 1500 and will it handle the wear and tear? Second question... will the Tahoe be able to handle the 8' plow or should I put the 8' on the Silverado and the 7.5' on the Tahoe. I already have Timbrens on the Silverado truck and plan on doing the same for the Tahoe. I may also have a leaf added to the rear so I can install a hitch type salt spreader with bags in the back to counter balance the added weight on the front of the Tahoe.