1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Chevy K30 truck...?

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by mkwl, Feb 27, 2009.

1. mkwl

mkwl 2000 Club Member

Hi-

I'm looking at buying a 1986 Chevy K30 truck another member on this site has for sale. The truck has 150K on it, with the 350 engine and auto trans. The engine is a carb- I have never used/owned a carburated vehicle before. How much of a PITA are the carbs on these trucks?

What are some good/bad points to these trucks? What are commonly failing items to keep an eye on?

Thanks,
    Matt

2. metallihockey88

metallihockey88 PlowSite.com Addict

as for carburated 350's i have some experience. i had a 1987 iroc camaro that would start no matter what, 20 below and it would fire right up without even being givin gas, it was a great engine. then i had a 1986 K5 blazer wit a carb that had a gummed up choke or something and it would not idle when it was cold, had to keep givin it gas til it warmed up. carburated engines are fine in the winter, just make sure the carb is nice and clean with a working choke and you'll be fine. people managed for many many years without fuel injection.

3. CAT 245ME

CAT 245ME PlowSite.com Addict

The old 73-87 GM trucks are very strong work trucks and simple & cheap to fix.

The K30's are a little hard to come by these day's and would be my first choice for a plow truck over the GM IFS trucks from 88 & up, if you are not familier with these trucks, they have a solid front axle and the K30 had a Dana 60 up front.

The truck you are looking at is it a dually or a single rear wheel?

4. mkwl

mkwl 2000 Club Member