1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Checking my production rates

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by Littlefield, Jan 17, 2011.

1. Littlefield

Littlefield Junior Member

Just getting some time estimates together for some local lots and thought I'd run this by you all.

Yes, I'm new at this, being as how we're down south, but I watched a lot of money get spent last week on backhoes to get our town cleared out, and can't help but think this would be a great supplement to my other business. Also, I'm from NY, and I love snow, and I'm dying to get some hours under my belt so I can help out on some storms up north.

All that being said, I've got a Walmart that I've measured out at around 590,000 SF, and my spreadsheet I've written up is kicking out about 17 hours for a 2-4 inch snow. This is with a F250 super duty with a Snowdogg 8ft wideout. We rarely get over 4 inches, but I'd figure about 50% more time if we get 5-7 inches... I think this seems very high based on looking at the lot, but I'd rather figure high and stay home than go low and lose money....

Am I close? Figure that each snow event is weeks apart, so there will always be an easy place to stack snow, and there will be NO cars out if three flakes have fallen.

Thanks for any insight you may have.
  2. Mick76

Mick76 2000 Club Member
    from Maine

So let me get this correct, you want to do the entire 13+ acs with ONE 3/4 ton pickup? Stick to driveways.......Big lots equal big iron... 17 hours to do a retail lot is not acceptable
  3. Littlefield