1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

charge twice? need help

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by vpantus, Jan 2, 2014.

1. vpantus

vpantus Junior Member
    from ct

Hey guys, newbie here. 3rd year plowing.

We should be getting 8-11 inches of snow tonight. Snow ends around 8am. I tell my customers that I plow twice after 8 inches. Should I go plow once now and once again in the morning? Its at about 4 inches now. I know ẃe will hit the 8inch trigger tonight, but what is the value to the customer with me plowing now and again at 7am? They will be sleeping, not like anyone needs to get out at night.

It that fair to plow twice and charge twice? Technically I can do it all in one shot. Light snow

Thanks larry

2. andersman02

andersman02 Senior Member

yes it is fair, as long as thats what your contract states. Most of our contracts are seasonal but we more or less use a tiered pricing for resi per push, 50% increase after 6", 100% increase after 12" etc.

You NEED to go out more then once for a 11" storms, your equipment will be under much less stress not to mention a cleaner scrape if your back draggin. We usuuallly go out every 4-6"

On commercial per push they pay for how ever many times we come out. 10" storm we may be there 3 times, they get billed for 3 times. If its a church and they dont need to be cleared asap we may push it to twice or even once for 8" max depending on the type.

3. vpantus

vpantus Junior Member
    from ct

ok thanks, I think that answered by question. Plow twice, charge twice. even if is once at night and once in the morning.

Yes that is what I agreed to with my customers. anything over 8 inches i come twice.

Another side question.