1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Chains for Polaris Ranger

Discussion in 'ATV / UTV Snow Removal' started by SkeeterB767, Oct 3, 2015.

1. SkeeterB767

SkeeterB767 Junior Member

Newbie here from Colorado and I need some advice:

I've got a 2006 Polaris Ranger XP 700 with standard tires. I think they're 12 inch PXTs with 26 x 8 on the front and 26 x 11 on the rear. I'll attempt to attach a photo to this post.

We've got a long gravel driveway at our house at 9000 feet. I'm using a 6 ft. Moose plow and I'd like to get some chains. Any advice for me would be appreciated!
    1. Do I need to put 4 chains on or just for the rear tires?
    2. Are there chains that I can use for these tires that will work? If so, what is recommended? If not, what tire/chain combo do you guys recommend?

Thanks for your help and advice!

1-IMG_1548.JPG

1-IMG_1548.JPG

2. BUFF

BUFF PlowSite Fanatic
    from FR NoCo

I'd only run them in back and also put about 300# in the bed.
    In the front you run the risk of the chains tearing up the fender wheel, you're also introducing more torque the CV joint and half shafts which will eventually fail.
    If you haven't already increase the spring preload on the shocks to reduce suspension compression/ sagging and moved the upper shock locations to add clearance then do so.

I have a new set of Cycle Country V bar chains for my Grizzly and have never needed or used them. I'm on the Front Range in Larimer County, make me an offer if you're close by and interested.

3. SkeeterB767

Thanks