1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Chains and Driveway of Death

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by ridektm, Jan 29, 2008.

1. ridektm

ridektm Junior Member

I'm relatively new to plowing and just accepted my first STEEP driveway. It's about 1/8 mile long with one 90 degree turn. The whole thing is steep, but after the turn it feels like straight up.

The driveway belongs to an older couple (friends of mine). They generally take care of it with a snowblower, but asked me to help them out when it's too much for them. I'm expecting them to call me when the driveway is impassable.

The drive is right on the edge of a hill with no railing or bank. I think I'll need chains in addition to more ballast, but since this is only place I need them I'd like something "easy on" and "easy off". Any brand/purchase suggestions? Chain vs. cable and can I get away with a just a set on the rear??
  2. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

Don't know about chains but pushing the snow uphill is alot easier to control then pushing it downhill Blade angle is very important too JMO

MOWBIZZ Senior Member