1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

chain or auger

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by FourRLawn, Dec 11, 2011.

1. FourRLawn

FourRLawn Junior Member

we are looking to start using bulk salt b/c our business is growing and have some big lots to do now. we have been using a western 1000 tailgate spreader with no problems. we have looked at just about every v box spreader and liked them all but some more than others I was just seeing what other people thought about the spreaders. so what is better chain or auger. We are also going to go electric poly. but just dont know if we want chain or auger. Also im new to plowsite. And what kind of bulk salt would you use.

Last edited: Dec 11, 2011
  2. Khowie644

Khowie644 Member
    from Maine

Magic Salt if you can get it,
    Regular bulk salt will work if that's all you can get.

I've had better luck with chain V-boxes, auger always was getting jammed.

3. basher

basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707

If you are doing straight salt, poly/electric/auger, do not remove the top screen :nono: . Depends on your temperatures what salt, if you are typically dealing with 25 degrees and above just plain salt, if you normally deal with _20 then a treated salt (like magic salt.)

Last edited: Dec 12, 2011
  4. Philbilly2

Philbilly2 2000 Club Member

I prefer drag chains. not much stops them. I cant speak for these newer poly boxes with augers, from what guys have told me, they are pretty good.

5. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic