1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Career change to heavy equipment op??

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment' started by gj_usa1, Jun 15, 2002.

1. gj_usa1

gj_usa1 Junior Member
    from CT

Hello.
    I am not sure if this the correct forum for this question, but I will ask just the same.

Could anyone here tell me the best way (if there is one) to get into the position of heavy equipment operator ??

I am a aerospace machinist by trade, who, due to medical reasons, is in need of a career change.

I have on ocassions, had opportunities to use payloaders, dozers, excavators, backhoes etc., and loved every minute of it.
    (A gentlemam I was friends with had all kinds of equipment, but I know he was self taught starting back in the 50's.)

My problem is that I have no idea how to get involved nowadays. Are most operators self taught ??

I know there is a school in Florida, but I would like to know if other avenues are available, if possible.

Any comment/help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.
    Glenn

2. Temco

Temco Member