1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Can't raise blade! Help!

Discussion in 'Fisher Engineering Discussion' started by PeteB, Jan 16, 2007.

1. PeteB

PeteB Junior Member

Let me begin by saying I am a NOVICE. This is my second season owning a plow. Yesterday I went to plow the 1" of ice, and I was only able to raise the blade once, and now it won't lift! I hear a click under the hood when try to raise it. 2001 F 350 with 9' Minute Mount 1. Any thoughts on what it might be? Any help is appreciated!

2. BoulderBronco

BoulderBronco Senior Member

Maybe a bad connection at the plug. Sounds like there is a relay that is working. I would put your head under the hood and follow the wires. Also have someone lift the joystick so you can here where that click is coming from.

3. chaseatg

chaseatg Member

Pete: The first thing to check is all of the electric connectons. Check not only the plow plugs but also your battery connections both positive and negitive.

4. PeteB

PeteB Junior Member

OK I will check the connections. The plow worked fine about two weeks ago, and I was able to lift the blade once yesterday. Then it wouldn't lift or angle... Sounded like the click was coming from the under the right front of the hood. I will check.

5. spittincobra01

spittincobra01 Senior Member

PeteB,

after you check the connections, make sure you put some die-electric grease on all of them. I do it as part of my pre-season prep. I too have a MM1, and I take off the black plastic cover on the plow and grease all the relays and connections in there, and the actual plug sockets where you connect the plow to the truck. The battery terminals get the spray anti-corrosion stuff.

6. Antnee77