1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Can't get the snow to "roll"

Discussion in 'ATV / UTV Snow Removal' started by pjprod, Feb 1, 2011.

1. pjprod

pjprod Junior Member
    from ny

I am running a 60" moose county plow on a 500 Polaris sportsman. I cant seem to get the snow to roll off the blade...how fast are you guys going to get the snow to roll off of a moose county. I primarily do sidewalks and a small driveway. Any thoughts.

2. SportsmanJay

SportsmanJay Member

I have an 05 Polaris Sportsman 700 with a 60" ploaris plow with homemade wings. This is my first year plowing with an atv and here is what I noticed. Before winter I repainted the front of the blade as it had a few rust spots when I bought it. I wire wheeled it clean before I painted it, and I used rustoleum paint I bought at walmart in a quart can and applied it with a 4" foam roller (3 coats). The first few plows I noticed it wasnt rolling, and I remembered when my Grandfather was alive and plowing he would coat the blade with a thin layer of motor oil, so I gave that a try. It made a huge difference! I've only coated it once in the beginning of the season and it's still rolling with ease. I also noticed that if the snow is very light and fluffy it really doesn't roll, kinda just pushes it along, but with normal weight snow to heavy snow it will roll even at very slow speeds. I never looked at the speedo while plowing, but I would think I don't really go over about 10 mph at most. Just make sure your blade is clean of any rust, and maybe try coating it with something.

3. Freebird

Freebird Member