1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Can you Plow and still go mudding?

Discussion in 'Jeeps' started by raging56, Jan 13, 2009.

1. raging56

raging56 Junior Member

I always had an SUV. I got a car because of gas prices and I hate it (getting stuck in my own driveway is embarrassing). So, I'm picking up a Jeep. I plan to use it for mudding, plowing, work around the house.

My question is....if I put a plow on the Jeep (remember I'm brand new to this stuff) can I still take it off road? My concern is the plow equipment attached to the frame hitting the ground and ether getting myself stuck or damaging the mounts etc. Maybe I'm 100% wrong and everything is removable (I hope) I really have no idea. I've looked at a million pictures and I can't tell if guys have a plow at home while they are mudding or just no plow at all.

For what its worth:
    I'm getting a 1990 YJ Wrangler 4 cyl. its got about a 3" lift and 31"swamper tires.
    the plow I have my eye on is a Meyers plow I think 7.5 feet with the pump that goes under the hood. I hope this info helps.

So, can it be done? Plow in the winter and decent mudding the rest of the year? Please help ASAP, I"m looking to get the Jeep tomorrow.

2. theplowmeister

theplowmeister 2000 Club Member
    from MA

Shure, Just unbolt the truck side mount in the spring.
    Mudding SUCKS :(

Rock crawling :D

Last edited: Jan 13, 2009
  3. zztarg

zztarg Member

Yeah, it would be a pain twice a year, but the mount should unbolt.

FYI, I don't know if I happened to get a dog, but I had a 1990 Wrangler I bought new. It was by far the *LEAST* reliable vehicle I ever owned. I loved it when it worked, but I was plagued by engine and front drive problems.