1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Can my truck handle this plow?????

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by skywalker, Nov 10, 2010.

1. skywalker

skywalker Member
    from NW PA

So I'm fairly new to snow plowing and currently have only one plow but need desperately to purchase number two. Last year I bought a brand new Fisher 8-6 V plow and put it on a ' 96 Chevy 3500. This year I was planning on buying an XLS for the same truck and running the V plow on an ' 05 GMC 2500. From what I've been told at the local Fisher dealer, the XLS is too much plow for a ' 96 one ton and the V is not recommended for the 2500 with the 6 litre motor. I may have misunderstood the second part but I'm sure that the first part is accurate. The dealer is very reputable but I a: don't want to believe this info as it's going to put me right back at ground zero, and b) am curious if the dealers error heavily on the side of caution in regards to this stuff so as to cover their tails in the event of a broken frame. Any input would be greatly appreciated and if the advice I've been given is correct I'm certainly open to any recommendations as to what plow my suite my needs. I landed a couple big lots this year and really want something with the capability to handle a lot of snow. Also, I'm a big fan of wings and definitely want them on whatever plow will end up in front of the one ton. Thanks a lot.

2. erkoehler

erkoehler PlowSite Veteran

I say go for it!

3. Detroitdan

Detroitdan PlowSite.com Addict