1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Can my truck handle 8foot pro ultramount

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by lowazztruck, Jan 11, 2010.

1. lowazztruck

lowazztruck Junior Member

hi i have a 2003 1500 silverado 4x4 with the 5.3 reg cab long bed. i have a chance to get a 8 foot western ultramunt for a good price but is this too much fr my truck weight wise? or am i safe. im prob gonna get torsion keys and lift the front end a little bit

2. Schwinn68

Schwinn68 Senior Member

with proper ballast and some cranks on the torsion bars you should be fine.

3. lowazztruck

what is a ballast? im new to this

4. suzuki0702

suzuki0702 Senior Member

ive gotta friend with a 2500 and his squats really hard with it...and its just the pro plow..not the proplus.. id say no

5. Schwinn68

Schwinn68 Senior Member

ballast is just some kind of weight in the bed to offset the weight of the plow in the front.

6. Schwinn68

Schwinn68 Senior Member

the weights are very similar for the different size plows. for instance, I know of a lot of 1/2 ton trucks with 7 1/2' pro plow that are just fine. the weight difference between these plows and an 8' pro plus is 805# to 682# or 789# for a 7 1/2' pro plus.

Just going by the numbers, I'd say this truck should be o.k. with this set up. A set of timbrens or an equivalent would help

7. JustinD

JustinD Senior Member

I see lots of 1/2 ton trucks with 8' blades, you should be fine.

8. Mark13

Mark13 PlowSite Fanatic

x2.

There's a guy cruising around my area with an old RT2 Boss 9.2V on a 96-99 Chevy K1500. :eek:

9. Gear_Head

Gear_Head Senior Member
    from IL