1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

    Dismiss Notice

can i swap over my truckside setup?

Discussion in 'Fisher Engineering Discussion' started by mass1589, Feb 14, 2013.

  1. mass1589

    mass1589 Senior Member
    from mass
    Messages: 338

    im looking at a new truck next week. its a 2006 silverado 3500 drw. 4x4 with 6.0l v8

    i have a 2000 (OBS) k3500 and it is setup for a fisher 4 port module. can i rewire the truckside setup on the new truck also? it still runs the same light setup i think
     
  2. durafish

    durafish PlowSite.com Addict
    from 02919
    Messages: 1,092

    I think you can do it might have to do a few little things though. If i were you id look for a diesel if your going for a drw.
     
  3. mass1589

    mass1589 Senior Member
    from mass
    Messages: 338

    This is almost a direct swap for my truck now ... I like diesel but i dont drive it muc besides plowing isnt it badto let it sit
     
  4. 2006Sierra1500

    2006Sierra1500 PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,758

    Gonna find a 9' X-Blade for it? lol
     
  5. mass1589

    mass1589 Senior Member
    from mass
    Messages: 338

    Hahahahah im gonna run the 8 for now but im searching alll over new england for a 8.5 or 9..... Guys jus sold a 9 blade/aframe for 700 last wed before nemo hit!!!
     
  6. 2006Sierra1500

    2006Sierra1500 PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,758

    You can't angle the 8' on a dually...the wheels are 8' wide in the back. lol

    EDIT: Found a 9' MM2 on CL for 2500 bucks. Stainless, earlier X-Blade though. Older lights.
     
  7. mass1589

    mass1589 Senior Member
    from mass
    Messages: 338

    i know....but for right now it will do. ill come across something soon!!

    it isnt 100% done deal yet this is all conditional on what the guy wants to do after he sees my truck. on the phone he is very interested. he just wants to visually see it.

    i was thinking if i do get this truck, maybe trade for someones 8.6 or 9 hd series in good condition.
     
  8. unhcp

    unhcp PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,244

    as long as the module is a 4 port green module or 3 port green module you will be good, I have a nice 9 foot mm2 going up for sale this week also
     
  9. mass1589

    mass1589 Senior Member
    from mass
    Messages: 338

    thanks unhp!

    ill look for your ad....
     
  10. gtmustang00

    gtmustang00 Senior Member
    from Berlin
    Messages: 747

    There's a 9' poly x blade for $3000 in Merrimack NH.
     
  11. mass1589

    mass1589 Senior Member
    from mass
    Messages: 338

    Modified for a lifted truck.... Not gonna go after that im just not looking to mess rewelding the aframe back! Lol ibe done alll the aframe work i want to for this year!
     
  12. chevyzrule810

    chevyzrule810 PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,239

    pushplates from your old truck will not fit the new one.You have the 7125 pushplates on the 2000 you need 7169 pushplate for the 2006.
     
  13. mass1589

    mass1589 Senior Member
    from mass
    Messages: 338

    I know about the push plates.... Im set there, jus wiring is confusing me.
     
  14. gtmustang00

    gtmustang00 Senior Member
    from Berlin
    Messages: 747

    No the lifted a frame one is another plow. And there's a couple year old 9x poly in Hollis for $2700. Both are on craigslist.
     
  15. brad96z28

    brad96z28 PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,526

    It does not make a crap bit of differance what color module it is. Only for drl.
     
  16. durafish

    durafish PlowSite.com Addict
    from 02919
    Messages: 1,092

    old thread but better then making a new one.
    so i have a 98 chevy almost like the one at the top and have wiring from a 01 chevy. I have the 4 port module with a yellow label on it. The lights are all screwed up now. high and low are together and never shut off. Wondering what it might be.
     
  17. buddymanzpop

    buddymanzpop Senior Member
    Messages: 601

    Durafish, what you have is the negative common vs the positive common snafu, you need to change a couple wire locations on your #3 and #4 headlight harnesses and you'll be good to go or otherwise you need to buy new #3 and #4 wires, reconfiguring harnesses is free so if you think you can do it pm me your e-mail address and I'll send you the diagram, it's pretty easy (but I've done it many times) once you figure out how to release the pins from the plugs.