1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Can I just resi's it work?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by jay33, Sep 11, 2011.

1. jay33

jay33 Junior Member
    from Detroit

Hey all. I've posted a few questions, but have read a TON of info here. I am projecting 3 or 4 years out (when it's time to get a new truck) and thinking about plowing on the side. As a former business owner, I think I have a pretty good grasp on insurance and expenses, and I know what my startup costs will be, at least in today's dollars. My question for those of you who do, or did, mostly residential work is this: After paying insurance premiums and only doing it in the side, can I make enough money to make it worth my while? I have family in two neighborhoods within a few minutes of both my home and work, which are also close together. Since I'll be in those areas both before and after work I wanted to be the "before and after work" guy. A buddy at work did it and made a killing, but has no insurance and also let a buddy use his rig while he was at work. What is a decent number of driveways without overextending myself? Should I just stay away?

Thanks for any insight.

Jason

2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Figure anywhere from 250- 500 per driveway for seasonal .So how many based on that would you need?

3. theplowmeister

theplowmeister 2000 Club Member
    from MA

Like you most people need to get to work and home at the end of a day. I think finding people that will want to wait for your werk to let out before they gat plowed will spread you out al over the place.