1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Can I effectively plow with this truck???

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Fred777, Nov 5, 2008.

1. Fred777

Fred777 Junior Member
    from ohio

I have a 2008 chevy silverado 2500 HD longbed. Unfortunately it is 2wd. Is it crazy to consider plowing with this truck? I am a remodeling contractor and have a few customers that have inquired about plowing services.

Can I effectively plow with this truck? How hard will it be on my truck? Any equipment recommendations for this truck?

I know I am asking a lot of questions. Looking through this site there is a TON of well informed pros and I was hoping to get some info from those that know.

Any and all information would be greatly appreciated!

Fred

2. duluthplower

duluthplower Junior Member

Every thing I've seen you can plow with a 2wd truck you just need timbrens and extra weight on the back of the truck. You would want a 8' minimum to cover the wheel path of the truck while the plow is angled. I'm sure you will get alot of plow brand recomendations. The most important thing is dealer support for parts and repairs. Hope this helps.

3. Turf Commando

Turf Commando Senior Member

If you get stuck just be sure you have tow trucks number..
    Not saying 4 WD wouldn't get stuck there's a reason they made them, plowing is one .

4. Fred777

Fred777 Junior Member
    from ohio

Duluth-

Thanks for the info. Good point on the plow size....I hadn't thought about that. I appreciate your help.

5. Fred777

Fred777 Junior Member
    from ohio

Turf-