1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

By the hour or the job?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by FurFishGame, Sep 29, 2013.

1. FurFishGame

FurFishGame Member

I've been doing snow removal for a couple years, both shoveling and plowing, so i kinda know whats going on, Im trying to start a plowing business this winter, with just a truck and a shovel, I'm going to just do residential and small commercial spots (like a had a espresso stand ask me about prices and all that) For residential I was charging $30/ hour, 20 of that for my self, 10 to cover the truck. expenses. (I kinda expect my take home to be lower than that after I kinda figure out the game) For residential i will charge by the hour, 1 hour minimum, weather I'm shoveling or plowing. for the espresso stand, i was wondering if i should charge a set rate every time i come out? Im expecting 1 1/2 hours per time i go out. should I just charge 45 dollars a time or do it hourly to save my butt if it ends up taking longer or unexpected problems arise?

Im plowing with a chevy 3/4 ton. pretty standard set up, 7 1/2 foot blade. nothing fancy. the stand is the only building on the lot.
    long post, sorry bout that.

2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

How big are these driveway first? What does an scribe snow look like there? Most driveways are per push or season.

3. rjigto4oje

rjigto4oje PlowSite.com Addict

have a price for 1 to 4 4 to 8 and after that charge 8 plus 1 dollar per inch over 8 if its a blizzard its game on do loose your butt either just be fair to your customers and they will be fair with you

4. leigh

leigh PlowSite.com Addict
    from CT