1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'Sweeper Forum' started by Sooner, Jan 31, 2008.

1. Sooner

Sooner Member

My company is six months old and I am new to the sweeping business. The area I work in is predominately contracted by one company who seems to have cheap-bid all of their contracts and doesn't do a very good job. I have had mixed success with getting their customers to change to my company even though our quality of work far surpasses what they are used to and my bids are close to what they are currently paying. I had a crazy idea yesterday of offering to buy out the other company, as the owner is a 'jack-of-all-trades' and is the age of retirement. Am I approching this the wrong way? If not, how would you go about valuing a sweeping company that probably has 4 or 5 trucks running 8 hours each/night with no land or office involved? Should I just keep grinding it out and slowly take their contracts as I can by offering a better alternative to the businesses? I, know this is alot, and have been doing the latter, but I want to grow this business as fast and smart as possible. I would appreciate any fresh ideas, thoughts or suggestions. Thanks-Gene
  2. iceyman

iceyman 2000 Club Member

first of all you would have see if the guys wants to sell. then you will have to come up with a value for the co. value will include trucks, route income, any inventory, storage, etc. with knowing all of that you can come up with a number the company is worth. make an offer which is on the low side and see what his reaction is. maybe he wants to get out of the biz and he will jump at an oppurtunity for some fast cash. you gota do some research.:nod:
  3. Sooner

Sooner Member