1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

    Dismiss Notice

Busy

Discussion in 'Questions, Rules, Suggestions' started by Got Grass?, Jan 16, 2003.

  1. Got Grass?

    Got Grass? Senior Member
    Messages: 641

    Noticing when there is 50 or so users online I get a lot of server busy errors. Goes to show how big this place has gotten.
    I'll be back later & save some bandwith...
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2003
  2. SnowMatt13

    SnowMatt13 PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,533

    me too, I got the same thing tonight.
     
  3. Pelican

    Pelican 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,075

    I thought the server just didn't like me...
     
  4. wyldman

    wyldman Member
    Messages: 3,265

    I've had it happen a few times too..Only seems to happen after sitting there typing up a long,thought out,response,then I get a server busy,and it's gone.Then I can't seem to remember what I wrote. :realmad:
     
  5. Pelican

    Pelican 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,075

    Don't you hate that?

    On another forum I post on, when you hit the back button, it remembers your post. Too bad that doesn't work here.
     
  6. wyldman

    wyldman Member
    Messages: 3,265

    Yeah,it's a real pain,happened last night here,typed a REALLY long post about a problem with our heating system here at the shop,and lost it.

    Now I try and remember on long posts,to select evrything,and then copy.So if you lose the post,just reply again,and paste it back in.
     
  7. plsoucy

    plsoucy Member
    Messages: 30

    I have removed "No-cache" headers, so you should still see your posts when you hit the "back" button.

    I have also changed several server settings yesterday to prevent the "server too busy" error from happening again.

    If you ever get that message again, please PM or e-mail me as I do not come here to read the support forum often.

    Regards,

    Pierre-Luc
     
  8. Pelican

    Pelican 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,075

    Thank you, Sir.
     
  9. Rob

    Rob PlowSite.com Veteran
    Messages: 306

    Just reading some posts tonight and have gotten the "Server too busy" several times.
     
  10. Pelican

    Pelican 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,075

    Me too!
     
  11. plsoucy

    plsoucy Member
    Messages: 30

    Thanks for reporting this - I have made some more changes, which will hopefully fix the problem.

    Pierre-Luc
     
  12. leprechaun_50

    leprechaun_50 Member
    from SW Minn
    Messages: 33

    Just got a server busy. Only showed 33 members and 19 guests at the time.
     
  13. meyer22288

    meyer22288 Senior Member
    Messages: 999

    It happened to me just a few days ago when we had 80 users on. I couldn't post for a very long time:realmad:
     
  14. plsoucy

    plsoucy Member
    Messages: 30

    Hey,

    PlowSite is not the only site hosted on this server - there might have been 160 people on LawnSite and several on the other sites we host too, which partly explains why the server is having a hard time to handle the load during peak periods.

    We are now aware of the problem, and I'll do some verifications tonight and tomorrow to find out what's particularily wrong when the server is too busy so we can take actions to correct this.

    Sorry for the trouble in the meantime.

    Regards,

    Pierre-Luc
     
  15. Pelican

    Pelican 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,075

    I was getting a page that stated there was a problem with the data base last night and couldn't access the site.
     
  16. plsoucy

    plsoucy Member
    Messages: 30

    That's another problem - the "threads" table in the Plowsite database was corrupt, and information could therefore not be read properly from it. I had to repair the table this morning, after which everything started working properly again.

    Sorry for the downtime - do not hesitate to e-mail me to report the error when you get it, as I may not be as fast as you to notice it. The server is monitored for accessibility, but that does not tell me if MySQL is running properly or not.

    Regards,

    Pierre-Luc
     
  17. Pelican

    Pelican 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,075

    Will do. The page said you had been notified by e-mail, I didn't want to add to what I figured would be a hundred notices about it.

    Thanks for the repair, the site is working fine and pretty quickly for me now.
     
  18. plsoucy

    plsoucy Member
    Messages: 30

    Sorry, I am effectively notified by e-mail, but notices from the several servers I monitor go in a special folder which I do not review as often as my standard mail, so one notice from a real person would probably ensure faster action.

    Regards,

    Pierre-Luc
     
  19. wyldman

    wyldman Member
    Messages: 3,265

    Are the no-cache headers still turned off ? I tend to lose my posts if I have to go back to the reply screen.
     
  20. plsoucy

    plsoucy Member
    Messages: 30

    They are still off. I personanlly do not lose post information if I hit the back or next button.

    Regards,

    Pierre-Luc