1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Burning up wires

Discussion in 'Strobe Lighting' started by dgerke, Feb 13, 2011.

1. dgerke

dgerke Member

OK I am not a novice when it comes to wiring , but I am having a fit. I have had a rotary beacon on my truck which was working fine for a couple of months then a few weeks ago I had it on when all of the sudden the cab fill with smoke shortly after I switch it on. I turned it off until I got back home and looked at the problem and saw the wire going to the light was melted down. ,So I thought the light went bad so went out and bought a strobe light to replace it along with a new switch , I wired the switch positive to positive , ground to the frame and source to the light . I hooked it all up and ran it for 20 min with no problems the other day im out plowing and a couple minutes of running the strobe the cab filled up with smoke and found out the source wire burned up again , I used #12 wire with a 30 amp lighted switch I know should put a fuse in it , which i will this time but whats causing the wires to burn up ?
  2. forbidden

forbidden Senior Member

If you have a drop in voltage current is going to spike. If you have too much draw on a circuit, current is going to spike. If you have a connection that is bad, it is going to build resistance in it. The same goes for multiple connections in the same line. In either case a byproduct of excess current is heat which in turn melts down wiring.

1) Do not use existing power points such a cig lighter.
    2) Do not wire a switch through a + line.
    3) Always use a relay and use a ground trigger through a switch to activate.