1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Bronco Motor Swap

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by 86burban, Feb 16, 2004.

1. 86burban

86burban Senior Member
    from chicago

I got a Bronco at work that needs a motor. It is a 351 that lost its oil pump. I got a new(er) motor out of an 87 Grand Marquis. It is fuel injected, but im gonna put the carb, intake, and exhaust manifolds on the mew motor. My question is, how involved of a project is it? Ive really never done a motor swap entirely by myself before. Ive pulled a bunch of front drive motors before and I know thats easy. I have never done a motor on a 4x4 truck before. How hard is it?

Thanks,

Tony

2. 86burban

86burban Senior Member
    from chicago

Its an 83 automatic BTW.

Tony

3. clueless

clueless Member
    from pa

need to take the intake and exaust manifolds plus all emissions equiptment off the old motor for the new one,plus oil pan and pickup tube,motor mounts,flex plate for auto,and anything bolted to the old motor for the new one.make sure the new motor has a fuel pump mount in the front cover that can be used,not cast shut.

best idea is to buy a new oil pump,fuel pump,water pump,plugs,cap,rotor,wires,valve cover gaskets,and anything else that is bolted on and change them out now so you dont kick yourself later on for not doing it,since it will be easier doing it now when the motor is out and swinging.