1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Broken Front Axles 2006 Dodge RAm 3500

Discussion in 'Ram Trucks' started by DPoolman, Jan 5, 2008.

1. DPoolman

DPoolman Junior Member

Did anybody experienced the same problem as i just had? 1 broken front axle on 1 side and the other side bent out of wack. Both need replacement . I have been plowing with a 99 chev 3/4 ton for 8 years and my 2006 Ford F-350 for 2 years problems free. The Dodge has only 48000km and boom front end gone after only plowing 70hrs with a 8ft SS Fisher. My technique and my commercial lot havent changed so i am tempted to blame the vehicle. Need feedback please.

tymusic:realmad:

2. TEX

TEX Senior Member

wow...........no i havent heard of that at all. i would think it would take a lot to break an axle

3. DPoolman

DPoolman Junior Member

And what suck big fat Wazoo is also the fact that being single rear wheel these axles are not stocked anywhere. Have to bring them in from across Canada. trucked parked since Dec 23rd.

4. JohnnyU

JohnnyU 2000 Club Member

The axles should all be the same 9.25AAM, as far as I know. I didn't know the shafts were any different between the SRW and DRW.

I've seen many axle shafts break in my time. Everything from the Dana 28 all the way up to Dana 60 and many in between. How did you break these shafts? Were they broken at the u-joint ears, or twisted off at the splines?

5. bribrius

bribrius PlowSite.com Addict

ifs comments anyone?

6. A Man

A Man Senior Member