1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

broken boss

Discussion in 'Equipment, Tools & Vehicle Pictures' started by OakhillsSnowdiv, Jan 1, 2009.

1. OakhillsSnowdiv

OakhillsSnowdiv Member
    from mass

here are some pics of my biggest regretable purchase hahaha i used to love this plow, but this is the 5th time we have had to unbolt it and reweld it because the boss dealer wont touch it luckly my father is a welder by trade and has a degree in metalurgy hopefully this doesnt happen again this season damn man hole covers

Picture 010.jpg

Picture 014.jpg

Picture 012.jpg

2. The pictures are kinda blurry. What broke on it? The blade or a-frame?

Sorry to hear man. Happens to the best of us. It sucks!

3. OakhillsSnowdiv

OakhillsSnowdiv Member
    from mass

A frame at the bottom of the plow snapped

4. 2low

2low Member

our 9'2" boss v blade keeps brakeing at the neck too

5. topdj

topdj Senior Member

Are you grinding out a v in the weld joint on both sides of the weld?
    How about preheating the steel and keeping it from cooling too fast. Have you tried using a sheilding gas weld.. I fear the metal has become brittle in that area. And the problem will just get worse.

6. 2low

2low Member

yes its been ground out to a v gas has been used its at the tip right after the pivot pin is if it brakes again were just going to get a new lower frame

7. topdj

topdj Senior Member

well that sucks , they should give it to you at cost, I been told that heating the frame before welding it the first time might have kept it from getting brittle. Maybe a welding pro will chime in.

8. RBRONKEMA GHTFD

RBRONKEMA GHTFD 2000 Club Member