1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Boss V or wideout plow

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by yardsmith, Dec 29, 2011.

1. yardsmith

yardsmith Senior Member

hey gang did some searching but didn't really find what I was looking for.
    I already have a boss V 8-2 with pro wings on my backup plow truck, but have a 9-2 for my newer truck I recently got, & haven't got to use it yet. I am still a solo operator at this point; my son will be able to help out later in the season as another driver.
    I'll prob use the 9-2 this year but wondering with all the variety I have in lots, I'm thinking about the 8-2 on the one truck & looking towards a wideout on my main truck, that way I can fit driveways AND use on bigger lots. I know the V doesn't clean as well on my bigger lots & doesn't bust into windrows as well as a straight plow. The 9-2 won't fit into alot of driveways I have.
    Ideally I'd use the older truck for the driveways & newer one for big lots. I still need a little bit of both in one plow for now, however.
    Anyone used both plows before??

2. Antlerart06

Antlerart06 PlowSite Veteran

What do you mean about bust into windrows

I run Vplows and Str8 plows If you plow right with V plow shouldnt be no windrows I never windrow I'm in scoop mode 90% of the time

My str8 plows When they windrow and cant move the windrow any more I'll come in scoop mode and push windrow up

I rather have a V plow its 3 plows in 1
    Your plow must not be set up right if its not cleaning well in big lots
    For driveways you might want get a Rear pull plow

3. yardsmith

yardsmith Senior Member