1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Boss V on 1997 Ford F-250 HD Powerstroke?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Mj's Lawncare, Sep 6, 2008.

1. Mj's Lawncare

Mj's Lawncare Junior Member

Hi guys i'm new to the plowing scene. I've been using a bobcat for snow removal on my lots but need a more efficient setup. I own a 1997 Ford F-250 HD Powerstroke which i will be using to plow. A friend of mine has for sale a Boss V-plow in "like new" condition" currently mounted on a 1996 Ford F-350. I believe its an 8' or 9' plow. My questions are:

Is that mount compatible with my truck?
    Can my truck handle this plow well?
    Is $3500 reasonable for everything, lights, mount, controls, plow?
    Will i need to upgrade my truck suspension? My truck sits slightly lower in the front, and the bumper rubs my oversize tires slightly the way it is. Here's a link to a pic of my truck.
    Thanks guys!

http://photos-e.ak.facebook.com/photos-ak-sf2p/v299/175/32/1042430106/n1042430106_30095180_1035.jpg

2. chcav1218

chcav1218 Senior Member

Well if the plow is really in like new condition, that's a good price. One of the dealers on the site will see this thread and tell you if the mounts and wiring are compatible. Get new shocks, a set of timbrens, and crank the T-bar up a bit and you'll be set

3. Camden

Camden PlowSite Fanatic

Without seeing the plow it's tough to say if it's worth $3500. My gut instinct tells me that it's probably not since it's mounted on an old truck.

The best way to know for sure is to snap a pic and post it on here. You'll get a lot of very honest opinions of the plow's true value.