1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Boss V issue, need help

Discussion in 'Boss Plows Discussion' started by rb8484, Oct 22, 2009.

1. rb8484

rb8484 Senior Member

Hey guys. I am new to the boss blades and am having an issue with the right wing not extending out. All other functions of the plow work fine, but when you try to extend the right wing, it just clicks. I thought it was a bad connection in the harness, but i wiggle it and still nothing. Any thoughts???

2. B&B

B&B PlowSite Fanatic

What clicks? The underhood solenoid?

So it's not running the pump for the R wing extend function?

3. bltp203

bltp203 Senior Member

My VX-T did the same thing once.....solenoid just clicked when I tried to move the right wing, nothing else. I got out and manually tried to move the wing...started working after that.

4. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Sounds like you needed a little grease in the center pin. Grease it up and move it back and forth by hand a few times to work the grease in.

5. 2COR517

2COR517 PlowSite Fanatic

What kind of grease do you guys use on the Boss hinge? Is there a needle you use, or do you screw in a zerk fitting?

6. turbo5560

turbo5560 Senior Member

good luck finding the right needle... i found one at a local car quest parts store and spending a lot of time trying to find the right one. hope you can find faster than i did!

7. Garagekeeper

Garagekeeper Senior Member

83278 is the part number for the Lincoln needle adapter that would go onto your grease gun.
    You can order them thru any quality automotive parts house.
    Use a water resistance grease for longer life.
    :rolleyes: John...