1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Boss or snowdogg

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by bigkid, Aug 24, 2014.

1. bigkid

bigkid Member
    from Gap, Pa

Well after several years being a member and enjoying every minute of it I now come to you with a question of my own. This is my first post so I apologize if it's not in the right place. I have been plowing snow for over 20 years. My last plow was a boss 8'2 poly V. Had the plow for 10 years of commercial use and besides maintenance my only problem was a bad smart hitch switch. I sold the plow and took a year off because I was relocating. I am getting back into plowing this coming winter so that mans a new plow. Of course my first choice is a boss, but after calling all the local dealers the best price I got for an 8'2 poly dxt with snow deflector was 7300.00 installed. None of the local dealers are open 24hrs during the storm. I then called the guy I buy all my truck accessories from. He has been selling snowdogg plows for 3 years now. He is a distributor and is open 24 hrs during the storm. He claims he has only had a few minor problems and nothing that left a plow inoperable. He sells roughly 25 a year so that sounded promising. He then tells me the price for the 8'6 VXF. 4849.00 installed. I was blown away by the price difference. So after all that it brings me to the reason for my post. What is everyone's experience with the snowdogg ? I know first hand boss is a great plow but is it worth almost 2500 more than the snowdogg. Between the dealer support and the price I am leaning towards the snowdogg but it's hard to walk away from a brand that has been so good to me in the past. Any input is greatly appreciated. Than