1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Boss or Fisher?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by FordTrucks77, Jan 22, 2012.

1. FordTrucks77

FordTrucks77 Junior Member

I am a landscaper , but new to plowing. I missed this season, but plan on plowing next season for my clients, and possibly some neighborhoods. I am from cape cod, we normally dont get much snow compaired to other places. we only have a handful of storms a year. I am unsure on what kind of plow to get. Boss or Fisher. I have a Ford Ranger Edge 4x4 that I figure I could use for driveways. I also have a 00 F250. Boss seems to be best as far as durability for comercial use. I deffinatly want a trip edge feature. thought about a homesteader for the ranger but will that be enough if that one time over a foot of snow falls? I dont want to turn around and tell my customers i cant handle it. I also dont want to break the bank. Best options for price and results? Thanks

2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Ranger get a Snoway. F250 get a Boss V plow.

3. slplow

slplow PlowSite.com Veteran

Both brand are great brands. for the ranger I would go with the fisher HT, From what I have heard, they are great for back dragging drives. For the f250 an 8ft fisher X blade, also back drags well.
    The boss trip edge and the fisher hd blade do not scape that well and are poor at back dragging but the full trip boss scrapes great and also back drags well. So if go with boss get the full trip.
    I had a 7.6 boss full trip and felt the truck took less of a beating with a full trip than my fisher hd's
    Right now I am running a blizzard 810 full trip and I own 9.5 fisher xtreem V.

4. FordTrucks77

FordTrucks77 Junior Member