1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Boss or Fisher hydraulic fluid

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by a1lawnandsnow, Dec 29, 2009.

1. a1lawnandsnow

a1lawnandsnow Junior Member
    from Racine

What's the difference between Boss and Fisher fluid I have a boss plow an the nearest dealer is an hour away. Worth the drive or just use the fisher?

2. wild bill

wild bill PlowSite.com Addict

oil

i have no experience with fisher oil ,but i would think as long as it meets mil spec 5606 it should be fine .its always best if you can to do a complete oil change so the two different oils are not mixed .:salute:

3. 2COR517

2COR517 PlowSite Fanatic

Fisher fluid would be fine, but a full drain/flush is in order. If it is much easier to get the Fisher fluid, that is what I would use.

4. Kenyou

Kenyou Senior Member

Welcome to Plow Site.
    Like it has been said here many times, use any major plow oil as long as it is a premium, low temp, plow fluid. Of course like 2COR517 said, you have to flush it all out of the system and put in the new stuff. Don't mix them.

5. a1lawnandsnow

from Racine

When u guys say flush it out. Do u mean just drain it or is there another way to flush it out its a older 8'2" boss v blade I believe a RT2

6. mercer_me

mercer_me PlowSite Fanatic

I have an old belt driven hydrolic plow so I just use Automatic Transmition fluid.

7. Kenyou

Kenyou Senior Member