1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

    Dismiss Notice

Boss mount

Discussion in 'Used Plowing and Truck Equipment Forum' started by wls, Sep 1, 2008.

  1. wls

    wls Senior Member
    Messages: 319

    Looking for a undercarriage/mount and truck side wiring to put a 7.5 boss on a 1994 dodge 2500, believe its a RT3, I'll post a pic of the plow, currently on a ford 150

    080121104836.JPG

    080121104844.JPG
     
  2. 06HD BOSS

    06HD BOSS 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,611

    i could be wrong, but that mount looks like an RT2
     
  3. wls

    wls Senior Member
    Messages: 319

    I'm not sure what it is, wonder if theres some numbers on to tell, like a serial number. Where would that be located.
     
  4. JD Dave

    JD Dave PlowSite Fanatic
    Messages: 11,046

    Do you have a smart hitch ?
     
  5. wls

    wls Senior Member
    Messages: 319

    To be honest, I'm not too keen on bosses, I'm not really sure what smart hitch is. I bought it hooked to the truck, been a very good plow, never had to do anything to it. Would mre pics help, could post some tomorrow.
     
  6. wls

    wls Senior Member
    Messages: 319

    Here's a couple pics I have

    080121104822.JPG

    080121104830.JPG
     
  7. B&B

    B&B PlowSite Fanatic
    Messages: 12,777

    It's an RT3 with the early design Smart Hitch with the twist in pins, pre '00 model year...no question about it.

    And it needs the A-frame pin holes fixed asap :).
     
  8. Indy

    Indy Senior Member
    Messages: 704

    And you spare tire is 5 lbs low on are.
    You'll need some gauze pads and some ball berings, make it quaker state.(Via chevy chase, fletch)............HOW does BB see that? I can't see it? But if he says fix A-frame stat, do it!!


    Ha, I re-looked, 1st photo, bottom left, pin looks wollowed out in a big hole, beter fix it man!
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2008
  9. wls

    wls Senior Member
    Messages: 319

    So its a rt3 setup, thanks everyone
     
  10. wls

    wls Senior Member
    Messages: 319

    Do you know if Boss has a bushing/pin kit for this? thanks
     
  11. cowboytim

    cowboytim Junior Member
    from midwest
    Messages: 11

    they should, but the best bet is ebayor online as dealer will rake you over the coals
     
  12. B&B

    B&B PlowSite Fanatic
    Messages: 12,777

    No, they do not. Have to replace the pins and weld the holes up and re-fit.
     
  13. wls

    wls Senior Member
    Messages: 319

    Looks like there 1", maybe bore then to 1 1/4" or something like that. How would that work? thanks
     
  14. B&B

    B&B PlowSite Fanatic
    Messages: 12,777

    You can do that too if it's not worn really, really, bad. Plenty of "meat" around there to increase the pin size.
     
  15. wls

    wls Senior Member
    Messages: 319


    Thats what I thought also, will get it up to the shop, and get working on it. Been busy getting the race sleds going.
     
  16. Rangerman

    Rangerman Senior Member
    Messages: 148

    I may have a mount it came off a 2001 but I dont thing the dodges changed much I have the wiring and mount both shoot me an offer.
     
  17. wls

    wls Senior Member
    Messages: 319

    Is it a RT2, or RT3?
     
  18. Rangerman

    Rangerman Senior Member
    Messages: 148

    its a rt3 I check with my dealer he said it would fit your truck no problem
     
  19. Crash935

    Crash935 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,377

    I have a RT3 mount also, dont have any of the harness.
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2008
  20. jryden145

    jryden145 Member
    Messages: 86

    I also have a rt3 mount.