1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Body swaps 74 to 81

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by blzn74, Oct 2, 2001.

1. blzn74

blzn74 Guest

I currently own a 74 chevy Blazer that I purchased about a year ago, running wise its all dialed in with a little suped up 350, some suspension lift and mud tires. I wanted a 74 for the full removable top, but after owning it for a year I have lived with the troubles that a full removeable top comes with,..Miss aligned doors, roll up windows ,etc. On top of this the body is pretty shot with rust, both rocker panels, the cab floor, Doors, and rear pasenger and driver body panels. The truck looks good from far, but far from good. Im a new mechanic to the scene of chevys and I dont want to sound stupid, maybe its too late, but will a 81 body bolt on to the frame of a 74? Is there anything else I need to know before doing the swap?

Thanks....Blzn74

2. 75

75 PlowSite.com Addict

To the best of my knowledge (I'm familar with pickups, not Blazers) the newer body will bolt up to your frame no problem.

As I mentioned in a reply to a different thread, I put an '81 cab on my '75 dually, worked out fine.

The swap itself should be pretty straightforward, don't forget to install new cab cushions at the same time. And before lifting the body off, check and double check for anything you forgot to unhook like a wire or exhaust hanger.

While the body is off, it's a good time to check the frame over, remove rust/scale and paint it up.

Last edited: Oct 2, 2001
  3. FastEddy

FastEddy Junior Member