1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

bobcat t190 extremely noisy, and extremely bumpy ride?

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment' started by NorthernSvc's, Jan 19, 2011.

1. NorthernSvc's

NorthernSvc's Senior Member

hello everyone, this is my first year using a tracked machine for snow removal. my question is that the t190 that we have makes a tremendous amount of noise when moving, almost sounds like a steel tracked machine if that makes sense, also the ride is extremely rough, it really rattles you when going slow, and any time we put down pressure on the snowblade it gets 100 times worse... anyone have experience with these machines? i don't think this is normal.... any ideas what could be wrong with it?

2. DGODGR

DGODGR Senior Member
    from s/w co

I have never used a T190 but I did demo a T300 few years ago. What you are describing was one of the things I didn't like about it. I thought most of the noise was from the windows rattling. If you put enough down pressure you will transfer all the weight to the drive sprocket. This greatly reduces the contact area so the tread pattern creates a rougher ride than it already was. The newer versions have incorporated a quasi suspension system (at least the T300 did) so they may not be as rough riding as the one I demoed. If my memory serves me, Bobcat added a fulcrum between bottom roller pairs so that the rollers can react to contours on the ground. IMO this will not make that much difference on pavement. I suggest that what you are experiencing is just the way those machine ride. BTW the Cat MTLs have a supper smooth ride. They do, however, incorporate a torsional suspension.

3. 1olddogtwo

1olddogtwo PlowSite Fanatic