1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Blower or Plow?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by bowmans, Nov 17, 2005.

1. bowmans

bowmans Junior Member

This is my first year getting into the snowplowing business and im looking to do 10-20 small driveways (by this i mean no bigger than 25x50 but mostly smaller than that. I dont have a lot of capital to spend on a nice $3k plow seeing as how i just had to purchase a new truck and all (s10). I know its small and all but being 20 and starting a business isnt a walk in the park. Anyway i am wondering if i should buy a decent snow blower or a low end plow say the snowbear. If i get the plow im looking at about $1,500 all together and i cant afford much more unless im financed. I could use some help what do you think can i be effective doing small drives with a snow blower or should i spend the extra 500 and go with the small plow?
  2. Mowerpan

Mowerpan Senior Member

I'd spend the extra and go with a plow for sure, your inside a heated cab, and you can drive to each driveway and nto have to load up a blower in between. Try to find a used plow, I know around here theres always ones in the paper for around 500 bucks, then just gotta find a mount for your vehicle.
  3. daveintoledo

daveintoledo Senior Member
    from nw ohio

dont forget the cost of insurance

i went with the snowthrower for this year, the cost of plowing insurance is very high, but you have to have it
  4. JElmWin

JElmWin Senior Member

Start with a snowblower. Takes a little longer but does neater job. Plus you could charge a little extra and do sidewalk. Once you get some $$ coming in then you can get a better snowplow. ;)
  5. bowmans