1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Blizzard 860 wont stay raised.

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by gmel, Dec 11, 2014.

1. gmel

gmel Junior Member

Hi All,
    I have a Blizzard 860HD that when I raise it, it wont stay in the up position. As soon as I let the joy stick go the plow just drops to the ground. Also, I can not get the plow to release from the truck using the switch on the frame. I am thinking it may be an S5 coil. Anybody have any Ideas?

Thanks.

2. JustJeff

JustJeff 2000 Club Member

Are you showing any leaking? The staying lifted problem I would guess is a bad seal, but I'm by no means a mechanic or authority on Blizzards.

3. Mr.Markus

Mr.Markus PlowSite Fanatic

Does it move at all using the switch? Can you raise it up with it?
    I had this problem but it was a pink wire coming out of my joystick that had frayed.

4. gmel

gmel Junior Member

No Leaks but thanks

5. gmel

gmel Junior Member

Yes it will raise with the switch on the plow frame. Thanks for the lead on the pink wire. Going to be the first thing I look at tomorrow.

6. Mr.Markus

If it raises and lowers but won't release, check to make sure the large nut on the claw is tight. It may look and feel tight but put a wrench on it and some muscle behind it. It may be the reason it won't release....make sure the plow is down when you're under there.

The plow falling could also be as simple as the plug not being tight, I had mine zip tied to hold it tight...

Last edited: Dec 11, 2014
  7. gmel

gmel Junior Member