1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Blizzard 860 SideWing or Western Pro Plus 8' w/ Wings

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by TurfSolutionsMN, Feb 3, 2008.

1. TurfSolutionsMN

TurfSolutionsMN Senior Member
    from MN

I will be purchasing one of these plows I am very interested in Blizzard, but I don't like the fact that the plow lights stay on the truck and service is an 1 1/2 hrs away. Western has a dealer 20 min away. What are some pro's or con's with both of these plows? Also what is the price on the pro plus 8' w/ wings? I have 29 residential accounts and 2 commercial lots (which I use my skid loader on). So I am new to the plowing world. Next year I want to have around 20 commercial lots. The plow will be going on a 2004 F250 5.4L.

2. KGRlandscapeing

KGRlandscapeing 2000 Club Member

most of the guys here say the 5.4in the 250s r dogs. so i think an 8ft straight would be alot of plow with wings. the light tower comes off of the truck its not stuck there. on the blizzard. westerns r quick and build sold u wouldnt go wrong with either

3. TurfSolutionsMN

from MN

westerns r quick and build?? But the lights on the Blizzard stay on the truck when you take the plow off right?? So do you think an 860 SW would be to much?

4. rjfetz1

rjfetz1 Senior Member
    from CT.

The light tower stays on - however 2 pull pins & 2 electrical connections and it is off. Its not to bad to drive around with them on, I thought it would bother me but it does not.

5. oldmankent

oldmankent PlowSite.com Addict