1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Blade trip edge mechanism

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by BoulderBronco, Dec 1, 2003.

?

Which trip design do you prefer?

1. Fisher and Diamonds (I think that's it)

18 vote(s)
    51.4%
  2. Meyer, Western and others

17 vote(s)
    48.6%
  1. BoulderBronco

BoulderBronco Senior Member

I personally am a huge fan of the Fisher trip edge design. I have a lot of experience with Fishers and love them. I also installed Westerns for a few years and, no offence to anyone, could never understand why you would want one. That goes for meyer and other like plows. When the blade trips on those plows you can easily get stuck in the snow you are pushing never mind you blow your load. :confused: I want to hear peoples reasons on why they like those plows that the whole blade trips. I am 99% sure you won't change my opinion but I feel I need to be better educated on the benefits of those type of trip systems and why so many people use them. All I am referring to here is the trip mechanism design, not the whole plow.

2. fordman

fordman Senior Member

I find full trip plows to be somewhat easier on your truck, however this isn't always the case. It really depends on what you hit to cause the plow to trip.

3. mac3897

mac3897 Member
    from MA

I have used Meyer and now a Fisher. I also strongly prefer the trip edge design (Fisher). It does seem to hold the plowed snow much better when it trips.

just my .02

Mac

4. mike9497

mike9497 Senior Member