1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

blade tips back, springs lock up

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by Booda, Feb 4, 2008.

1. Booda

Booda Junior Member
    from Utah

I am a total newbie to all of this, so bear with my lack of proper terms and knowledge.....

I have an old (not sure how old, but at least 25 year old Meyer) plow mounted to an equally old army surplus 76 dodge powerwagon. I bought the plow used, and had the local Meyer dealer mount it to my truck.
    I live in Utah, and we have had an incredible winter here in the mountains, with several feet of snow falling every week for the last 6 weeks or so. We have a LOT of snow, and I have to push into some pretty big piles. Lately my blade tips backward under a big load of snow, and the two springs sort of 'bowed' and locked that way. I was able to just kick 'em back into place the first couple of times, but yesterday both springs actually popped off the bolts on the blade. I got them back on, (THAT was fun) but the very next pile I pushed into caused the same thing.
    Is it possible that I damaged or weakened the springs somehow by the blade tipping back?
    I do not do any commercial plowing, and use this plow only for my own property road which is gravel. I also have noticed a new hydraulic fluid leak on one of the side piston hoses, though it doesn't seem too alarming at the moment.
    Any suggestions or advice would be appreciated.... we've had 2' of snow in the last 48 hours, and more on the way!
  2. wild bill

wild bill PlowSite.com Addict

got bent

i think your blade went back past the stops ,will have to weld some more in between the blade and quadrant .
  3. kashman

kashman PlowSite.com Addict