1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Blade size for RC-30

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment' started by flairlandscape, Sep 26, 2007.

1. Hey guys,

First post - looks like a great site. I've plowed for other companies in the past, but this is my first year going out on my own. I'm looking at an RC-30 to do walkways, driveways, and hoopefully some small parking lots. If I'm able to put a large enough blade on it, I'd just take two blades sizes along with me, a 48", and a larger one. What do you think, any experience?

2. itsgottobegreen

itsgottobegreen PlowSite.com Addict

We have 2 bobcat 453 wheeled skid steers. They can push 5' snow plow with easy. They totally saved us on the ice storm we had this year. I personally would go with a wheeled unit over a tracked unit.

3. thanks for the reply - good to know the 453's can push a 5' blade. I've had a lot of people tell me to go with wheeled over track, but I know I'd much much prefer track over wheel in the summer season, thats why.

4. jbsparky

jbsparky Junior Member

An RC 30 can handle a 5 foot blade just fine and for the people that say tracks are not the way to go, they havn't ever run an ASV or CAT with tracks!!

5. Ctll

Ctll Member
    from midwest

RC 30 plowing