1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Biding Snow Removal

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by GBD, Sep 12, 2010.

1. GBD

GBD Junior Member
    from Ohio

I have a few questions about how to bid new contracts. I have plowed snow for several years sub contracting for other companies. This is my first year in business for myself. I have a landscaping business and have gotten several commercial contracts. They have asked me to give them a bid for snow removal. They are all small lots, banks and an Advance auto store. I need to give them prices for both pushing snow and salting.

So here is my big question. How exactly do you guys go about giving a price? Do you calculate how many hours its going to take you and then have a set hourly rate? Or is there a set standard for lot sizes? Also for salting, do you figure how many bags it takes and then charge so much per bag?

Any help would be awesome, thanks!

2. deicepro

deicepro PlowSite.com Addict

Hope that helps

3. snocrete

snocrete Banned

There are alot of threads on this.....use the "search" feature, inform yourself on methods/systems of the biz, and narrow down how you want to bid your jobs - example: per push, per inch, seasonal, hourly, etc. Then come back with questions if you still have em.

P.S. Get your post count up to 10, so that you can receive PM's(private messages). This is how some of your good info may come to you......I will suggest posting pics of your equipment/operation to boost your count. Everyone likes pics.

Last edited: Sep 12, 2010
  4. GBD

GBD Junior Member
    from Ohio