1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by bignyla, Aug 14, 2011.

1. bignyla

bignyla Junior Member

I'm new to commerical plowing just did a few but i have a chance at a new gig its a facility that is 430by200 it consist of one large parking lot and one small one a driveway and a walkway i need help with bidding please
  2. second income

second income Member

You say that you have plowed some before, so you should be able to figure out how long it should take to do the job. You are talking about a fairly small area, if you have at least a 7.6 blade you should be able to bang it out in an hour total. You need to figure out your expenses which only you can do and add a profit. In Jersey our pick ups get $80-$100 an hour as a sub and we bill out $200-225 an hour as a primary. Good luck, of course you need to add for salt and any extra shoveling or blowing. Don't give the salt away, that is where you should be making the extra coin!
  3. Mick76

Mick76 2000 Club Member
    from Maine

For a truck? Life's good in Jersey!!! I wish we could get those rates around here but then again, this is why pricing is area specific...... and btw, good advice.....
  4. second income

second income Member

Let me clarify, If I am bidding on a job lets say a small dentist's office or something similiar, I will quote them that $200-$225 number to cover some travel time and maybe a post storm clean up 0f one or two parking spaces. I use that as my base number and then add half that number incrementally for additional accumulations.
  5. Matson Snow

Matson Snow PlowSite.com Addict