1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Bidding by the hour

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by jasondwade, Oct 23, 2009.

1. jasondwade

jasondwade Junior Member

I am new to the snow plowing this season. I have been bidding on jobs by the hour and was wondering if these rates sound ok.

snow plowing: $75 hr
    shoveling: $40 hr
    salt usage: $30 per 100 lbs
    calcium chloride usage: $40 per 100 lbs.

2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

You can bid what ever you want. But if no one is contracting with you ,you know your rates are to high.

3. T&M SnowMan

T&M SnowMan Senior Member

well you havent said if you have a pickup with an 8ft or a dump with a 9ft, or if its parking lots or driveways...theres no info to base an answer off of..lol...but if you are doing driveways I would have a rate depending upon the snowfall total at end of storm example (2-5" storm would be $30 per driveway at end of storm, maybe 6-9" would be $45 at end of storm per driveway) so forth and so on...for parking lots I would go by the hour as you will be there until the storm is over, so you will likely get plenty of hours plowing in...up in MA its usually about $50-$60 for 8ft plow, $75+ for 9ft plows...roughly, cause I know everyone from here is gonna dispute this, but it all depends on the area you are in...Hopkinton area isnt exactly strapped for cash..lol..so it might be a little different other places...good luck this winter

4. jasondwade

jasondwade Junior Member

It's an 8ft plow on a 2500hd silverado. Parking lots mainly. It doesn't snow alot down here though. Might get 3-4 inches on a real good day. I'm buying bagged salt for about $6 a bag, so don't know if these rates are normal.