1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Bidding a sub division..

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by bastalker, Apr 17, 2003.

1. bastalker

bastalker Junior Member
    from Ct.

I got a call this morning from a lady who is pres. of the committee for this residential area consisting of 35-40, million dollar homes, that sit on an average of 5 acres.

It has basically 2 winding roads through it approximately 2 miles worth. She wanted bids on lawn mowing open areas, and the snow plowing. I am all set with the mowing estimate, but I am fairly new to the plowing biz.

These roads have been labeled private, and the town goes nowhere near it. I have to bid for plowing and sanding all the roads and tucking in the corners, and be on call in case a school bus happens to get stuck.:rolleyes:

The break down is 1-3" plowing of snow and sanding problem areas, turns, and bus stops.

3.5-6" same

6.5-9" same

9-12" same

12 and above Charged per push, not per event charge accordingly

Sanding to be done if plowing is not necessary, but area is slippery. At my discretion, or on call basis..

The roads are standard 2 lane roads that would need 4 passes to clean it up. I figure 8-10 miles of driving per push.

What do you guys think?

2. cat320

cat320 2000 Club Member

you should talk to Pelican he does private roads and uses a snowfighter on a ford 550 for that.

3. digger242j

digger242j Senior Member

I think you should bid it high, because your competition will bid it high, and the clientele will be nit-picky, whiny, I-have-more-money-than-you-and-don't-you-forget-it type customers. Aggravation should be as much of a factor in bidding as the price of gas.......