1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Bid help please.

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by ommegang, Dec 11, 2011.

1. ommegang

ommegang Senior Member
    from wi

Plowed as a sub for the past 4 years, condos and apts mostly. Got stiffed for my entire work - 180 hrs last year so, I am new to bidding. Help much appreciated. I have a 2011 F250 with 2011 bos 9'2 VXT. I don't have any external accounts at present except one diveway so, this bid would cost me $500 for the liability insurance. But it is only several miles away and on my route for my internal accounts, ie: properties I maintain, and it may provide a stepping stone for me. It's the two tan roofed buildings with the lot to the right which is 350' long. The second link is for the building directly accross the street owned by the same guy who previously plowed both himself. No sidewalks or salt. I figure 1.5 hrs for both which includes comming back the next day for clean-up. So, 1.5 x 100 = $150 x 8 = $1200. I figure 8-10 events above 3" based on this: http://www.currentresults.com/Weath...nowfall-totals-snow-accumulation-averages.php
    My $100/hr charge is for any amount of snow at least for my seasonal bid. What do you guys think, not enough considering my insurance layout? I figure $50 gas allocated to this account, less $500 insurance leaves me with $650. Mind you, I would like to have 5-10 accounts to spread the insurance cost out on. But at present, I don't. Thanks, for any input.

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&sou...105,-88.073396&spn=0.001743,0.003406&t=h&z=18

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&sou...064,-88.073659&spn=0.000871,0.001703&t=h&z=19

Last edited: Dec 11, 2011
  2. grandview