1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Best way to open up end of driveway

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by gwnorth23, Nov 6, 2008.

1. gwnorth23

gwnorth23 Junior Member
    from Maine

I am new to plowing (my own driveway) this year and am looking for advice on how to best open up the end of my drive without screwing up the town road or blasting out onto traffic to break through the bank left by the county plow.

I have a long driveway with a turnaround and a circle that opens up to a busy (for Maine:)) road. I know I should push it into the ditch and would if I were approaching the drive from the road.

I was thinking if I pushed as much as I could to the sides and push what's left across the road, but then I heard that is not allowed?

I should get some pictures but seems to be dark :realmad: when I get home from work now that Daylight Savings has ended. Any input would be great. Thanks, Mark

2. bribrius

bribrius PlowSite.com Addict

i put up my blade a few inches and drive through the bank at the edge of the road. then if im plowing it right then turn the truck around and start pushing it in . But basically i drive through it out and push it in. if that makes sense.

3. gwnorth23

gwnorth23 Junior Member
    from Maine

Thanks, I just worry about driving through the bank and getting caught up with the plow on there, lots more places for snow/ice to get caught up in. It seems to be the only solution though....Mark

PS - I like your FEE ME State in the location, being a mainer myself it is certainly appropriate

4. bribrius

bribrius PlowSite.com Addict