1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Best way to grow customers by 50%

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by M&M, Sep 14, 2015.

1. M&M

M&M Senior Member

I've been plowing for 13 years. Last year my route was just over 60 driveways in 1 town. I purchased a second truck (2015 Chevy 2500HD) and plan on putting a 9'6" XV2 on it in a few weeks.

I'm going to run 2 trucks this winter and I'm working on growing my customer list by 50% (30 driveways). In the past I have been very specific on the area of the town I would plow in. I'm planning on opening up my coverage to the whole town. It's actually a great spot for residential plowing. Driveways are too big to shovel, wealthy homeowners, relatively close neighborhoods so not a lot of drive time.

What has been your best marketing plan to gain customers. I have done everything from flyers in mailboxes in the early days (yes I know it's illegal but it's very effective), to direct mailing of postcards (pricey), to offering a free plow for existing customers that refer a friend or neighbor.

I plan on spending time and money and would like to hear what has worked for fellow residential guys.

Thanks for the help.
  2. theplowmeister

theplowmeister 2000 Club Member
    from MA

1st I drive around where I am thinking of plowing. I write down the address of houses I want to plow. I dont want to plow drives that are smaller than my plow or with walls on the sides of the drive or no place to put the snow.

Go to town hall purchase "list of persons" "Voter list" "resident list" whatever the town calls it.