1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

best type of truck to plow?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by dirtrd, Nov 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dirtrd

dirtrd Junior Member
    from NH

I'm new to plowing this year, have run a small landscape biz for about 10 yrs now, finally deciding to plow this winter, I have a few driveways to start a couple 200-300ft gravel drives and hope to add more residential accts before snowfall.. I'm debating on getting a plow for my 06 F350 srw diesel which has never plowed, or getting a heavier duty 350 or 3500 dually with a flatbed. I've had this endless debate on having one do-all hd pickup truck or going to the dually which would also be better for towing equip. stone. etc.. I'm always overloaded with the current F350, its a nice truck but need a more dedicated work truck with a higher gvw and payload capacity, and have a smaller 1/2ton truck for daily driver. Anyway would flatbed be ok for traction with out sander? Have to put some kind of weight back there.. I have a dump trailer so payload not as big a deal as gvw and plowing. It'd be a shame to beat up my current F350 if I'm just going to sell it for something hduty in the near future. Thanks for any tips gotta decide soon snow on its way!

2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Boss v plow on the F350. Don't believe anything those Fisher guys say!

3. dirtrd

dirtrd Junior Member
    from NH

Thanks - what would you say is the main difference between boss and fisher? Those are the two brands I've been looking at anyway. Keep the F350? Not gonna kill the resale value?

4. Metro Lawn

Metro Lawn PlowSite.com Addict