1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

best truck for the job?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by wisecp, Feb 13, 2009.

1. wisecp

wisecp Junior Member

I am new to the snow removal business. I am in the process of starting a full service lawn care business.
    I have found a 3500 HD dump truck with low mileage that I could use on the lawn care side of the business. It is not 4 wheel drive. Would it work for snow removal also??
    What are the pros and cons?:wesport
  2. Kunker

Kunker Member

Can you plow with it? Sure, it'll do a good job in some situations with a ton of weight in the back, but it all depends on what type of plow you're going to add (dually so it'll need to be wide), what type of plowing you'll be doing (driveways, small/large lots, etc) and how much experience you have (with out 4x4 you might get stuck easier).

A quick search will net you all you ever wanted to know about this.

Edit: And welcome to Plowsite! :waving:
  3. yardatwork

yardatwork Member