1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Best time to get plow contract

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by wxmn6, May 25, 2001.

1. wxmn6

wxmn6 PlowSite.com Addict

I would like to know when is the best time to start searching for customers and when to get the contracts signed? I am new to snowplowing business so please help me out. I would like to know what the contract should look like. I checked out Chuck's snowplowing-contractors.com site and tried to view the link to sample plowing contract but it appears that this link is gone. Is there anyone who can give me some suggestion of making a contract? I will only be doing the plowing, no salting. I will be using a Toyota pickup truck so I think that I would limit one "push" for each 6" of snow. What do you think of this pricing setup? If you think you have a better suggestion than my idea below, let me know. Thanks!

2"-5.9" = $x
    6.0"-11.9" = $2x
    12"+ = $2x + $y for each additional 2" of snow

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

The last two are basically the same (2x). Maybe you meant 3x? Actually, I'd suggest the 2nd 6" increment to 1 1/2x

I'd also suggest joining SIMA. Lots of good help for a new person. You'll definitely make the cost of membership back if you're willing to take advise and learn from others.

Good Luck,
    Mick

3. wxmn6