1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

best tech for deep snow

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by captbo, Feb 6, 2010.

1. captbo

captbo Senior Member

HI all I am in my first year plowing with a bronco and an 8' western , I did a 100' drive this am and had no problem, moving about 12" of snow, while its still coming down I went and did another one and got stuck 3 times, I tried to move it as I did the first one and it just wasn't't working

what is the best way other than being able to plow every 3-8"
    we don't typically get big snow fall here but right now the pld yeard stick reads 24"

Thanks

2. 2COR517

2COR517 PlowSite Fanatic

When the snow gets heavy, weight is your friend. Broncos can make great plow trucks, but it's difficult to get much weight on them. So you need to get very good tires, and chains.

And you always need to be thinking about the next storm/pass. Where are you going to put the snow? Push back as far as you can.

3. captbo

captbo Senior Member

I have 650lbs in the back (sand bags) how much more do you think might make a difference, I will have to look for some chains

4. pelt35

pelt35 Senior Member

You don't have to plow the whole 12" at once, you can lift your plow up 5-6" and take that off and then come back for the balance. Try not to let it get to 12" in future if possible , set your triggers low enough to do it more then once if need be.

5. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

Take less of a "cut" at the snow.
    Don't try to take a full 8' pass when it gets real deep.
    Plow it when it get 4 or 5....you make more money that way plus it is easier to move

6. 2COR517

2COR517 PlowSite Fanatic