1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

best plow for us

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Kerry38, Dec 12, 2013.

1. Kerry38

Kerry38 Junior Member
    from Texas

This is my first time here so be gentle with me. We are an HOA/Country Club community in North Texas. We are hilly with 26 miles of private roadways. We dont get a lot of snow, mostly ice, but when we do our slide in sander does nothing. After this last snow event I have finally convinced capitol hill to allow me to purchase a plow. Considering a "v" type but looking for advice. We will be mounting on a 2013 2500 HD 4X4. My budget is 5000.00. Any advise would be great. Also any how to vids on installation would be great. Looks like around 800.00 for install. Last question, I would really like to keep my grill guard on. Is that a possibility? Thanks.
  2. NortheastSNO

NortheastSNO Member

Are you going to do other plowing besides the road... if not a v plow may be over kill ( I know Im going to get scolded for that). A 8-1/2 or 9 Foot straight blade will work fine. As to leaving your grill on I would say that 99.9% of all snowplows manufactured today do not require removing any factory parts.

5000 grand could get you a nice new fisher, western, Meyers, snowdogg or whatever you choose.

as far as videos of installation just visit plow manufacture website they are promoting how easy they are to install.

$800.00 for installation is not worth it, if you are somewhat mechanically incline you could set up and install whole plow in less than a day. We do it in about 3 hours start to finish.

Good luck
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2013
  3. BUFF

BUFF PlowSite Fanatic
    from FR NoCo